DePaul University School of Music > Faculty & Staff > Faculty A-Z > Jason Moy

Jason Moy

BM McGill University
MM McGill University

Courses Taught
Applied Harpsichord
Baroque Ensemble


Jason J. Moy holds degrees in harpsichord and Early Music performance from McGill University in Montreal, where his primary teachers and mentors included Hank Knox, Luc Beausjour, and the late Bruce Haynes. Jason is currently based in his native Chicago, where he serves on the faculty of the DePaul University School of Music. His concert activities have taken him throughout the United States, Canada and Europe, and include an appearance at the 2009 York Early Music Festival in the United Kingdom. 

Jason regularly appears as both soloist and continuo player with some of the areas most respected ensembles, including the Bach Week Festival Orchestra, Baroque Band, Chicago Chamber Musicians, Music of the Baroque, Newberry Consort, and the Illinois Symphony Orchestra. He has been featured in live performances on BBC Radio 3 and Chicagos classical radio station, WFMT98.7; on television for ABC7 and CBS2 Chicago; and is a frequent guest on the International Music Foundations acclaimed series of Dame Myra Hess Memorial Concerts.  For more information, visit

Before there came to be a piano in nearly every household and concert hall, the harpsichord reigned as the supreme keyboard instrument during the Renaissance and Baroque eras. Get up close and personal with this fascinating instrument and its unique structure, sound, and expressivity through the eyes of Chicago-based harpsichordist, Jason J. Moy. 

Musical selections:
Louis Couperin (1626-1661) - Prelude 'non mesure' and Passacaille in C Major
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750) - English Suite in D Minor BWV 811: Prelude